Bug 7201 - Renaming a folder in a project with files within open
Summary: Renaming a folder in a project with files within open
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: Xamarin Studio
Classification: Desktop
Component: General ()
Version: Trunk
Hardware: PC Linux
: --- normal
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Bugzilla
URL:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2012-09-16 16:27 UTC by Peter Hultqvist
Modified: 2013-03-11 04:23 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

Tags:
Is this bug a regression?: ---
Last known good build:

Notice (2018-05-24): bugzilla.xamarin.com is now in read-only mode.

Please join us on Visual Studio Developer Community and in the Xamarin and Mono organizations on GitHub to continue tracking issues. Bugzilla will remain available for reference in read-only mode. We will continue to work on open Bugzilla bugs, copy them to the new locations as needed for follow-up, and add the new items under Related Links.

Our sincere thanks to everyone who has contributed on this bug tracker over the years. Thanks also for your understanding as we make these adjustments and improvements for the future.


Please create a new report on Developer Community or GitHub with your current version information, steps to reproduce, and relevant error messages or log files if you are hitting an issue that looks similar to this resolved bug and you do not yet see a matching new report.

Related Links:
Status:
RESOLVED FIXED

Description Peter Hultqvist 2012-09-16 16:27:12 UTC
1. Open a file located in a folder of the project.
2. Rename the folder in Monodevelop

Problem:
The open file still point to the old location.
If one try to open the file again you get a second file but this one only has the last saved changes since the folder was renamed.

Since the folder was moved within monodevelop any open files should be warning for saving before moving or changed so they point to the new location.
Comment 1 Peter Hultqvist 2012-09-16 16:41:33 UTC
I reported another bug #7202, there the file gone missing was silently closed.

Here it is not closed, but one solution could be to close the file before moving the folder. That way one would get the save/discard/cancel dialog where cancel would not move the folder.
Comment 2 Peter Hultqvist 2013-03-11 04:23:27 UTC
Loooks like this one is fixed sometime before 4.0.2