Bug 5521 - Reinstalling MT 5.3.4 asks for docs merge every time
Summary: Reinstalling MT 5.3.4 asks for docs merge every time
Status: RESOLVED FEATURE
Alias: None
Product: iOS
Classification: Xamarin
Component: General ()
Version: 5.3.x
Hardware: Macintosh Mac OS
: --- normal
Target Milestone: Untriaged
Assignee: Jérémie Laval
URL:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2012-06-05 12:44 UTC by PJ
Modified: 2012-06-05 13:11 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

Tags:
Is this bug a regression?: ---
Last known good build:

Notice (2018-05-24): bugzilla.xamarin.com is now in read-only mode.

Please join us on Visual Studio Developer Community and in the Xamarin and Mono organizations on GitHub to continue tracking issues. Bugzilla will remain available for reference in read-only mode. We will continue to work on open Bugzilla bugs, copy them to the new locations as needed for follow-up, and add the new items under Related Links.

Our sincere thanks to everyone who has contributed on this bug tracker over the years. Thanks also for your understanding as we make these adjustments and improvements for the future.


Please create a new report on Developer Community or GitHub with your current version information, steps to reproduce, and relevant error messages or log files if you are hitting an issue that looks similar to this resolved bug and you do not yet see a matching new report.

Related Links:
Status:
RESOLVED FEATURE

Description PJ 2012-06-05 12:44:14 UTC
After the first installation I paused the cast and got the contents of a few directories.

You can see that after accepting the merge the first time, the merge prompt still occurs on the second attempt.

http://screencast.com/t/2tSCw9uQTAi4


Is this supposed to trigger with each install or only if something has changed?



Experienced while installing MT 5.3.4 (abd3c5c3e15d89cfe55d2343663ff116f798ea8e)
Comment 1 Jérémie Laval 2012-06-05 13:11:00 UTC
Hey,

Yes this is normal, the install process resets the docs everytime as in the general case a subsequent installation is for a new version. That in turns trigger the dialog (for testing purposes you can say no there if you don't want to wait, same dialog can be triggered again in macdoc with MD > Help)