Bug 4231 - Navigation history allows for multiple entries on the same line after deleting a file in the history
Summary: Navigation history allows for multiple entries on the same line after deletin...
Status: CONFIRMED
Alias: None
Product: Xamarin Studio
Classification: Desktop
Component: Shell ()
Version: 2.8 beta 3
Hardware: Macintosh Mac OS
: Low minor
Target Milestone: master
Assignee: Marius Ungureanu
URL:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2012-04-04 10:58 UTC by PJ
Modified: 2016-07-12 14:51 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

Tags:
Is this bug a regression?: ---
Last known good build:

Notice (2018-05-24): bugzilla.xamarin.com is now in read-only mode.

Please join us on Visual Studio Developer Community and in the Xamarin and Mono organizations on GitHub to continue tracking issues. Bugzilla will remain available for reference in read-only mode. We will continue to work on open Bugzilla bugs, copy them to the new locations as needed for follow-up, and add the new items under Related Links.

Our sincere thanks to everyone who has contributed on this bug tracker over the years. Thanks also for your understanding as we make these adjustments and improvements for the future.


Please create a new report for Bug 4231 on Developer Community or GitHub if you have new information to add and do not yet see a matching new report.

If the latest results still closely match this report, you can use the original description:

  • Export the original title and description: Developer Community HTML or GitHub Markdown
  • Copy the title and description into the new report. Adjust them to be up-to-date if needed.
  • Add your new information.

In special cases on GitHub you might also want the comments: GitHub Markdown with public comments

Related Links:
Status:
CONFIRMED

Description PJ 2012-04-04 10:58:41 UTC
Navigating after deleting a file that is part of the navigation history results in the ability to create many navigation history entries for the same line.

Steps:
Create solution.
1. Open a CS file and click on a line to create a navigation history entry
2. Add a new Txt file. Click into the file to add an entry there.
3. Return to the CS file and click on another line to create another entry.
4. Remove and delete the TXT file.
5. Navigate into the deleted file's entry (CMD+OPT+LEFT or CMD+OPT+RIGHT)

Actual behavior: Search->Navigation History shows more than one entry on the line in the CS proj file.

 The cursor in Navigation history also indicates that my current location *is* in the empty file: http://screencast.com/t/ClDli59skuk5

Not sure how to more gracefully indicate the file is deleted, but the duplicate entries issue might have a solution. 
 

This issue does not seem to cause any real problems, so marking as trivial. If people are relying on Navigation history when working with large projects, we might want to up that.