Bug 4154 - Policy settings apply to existing solution if it hasn't been customized
Summary: Policy settings apply to existing solution if it hasn't been customized
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: Xamarin Studio
Classification: Desktop
Component: Project Model ()
Version: unspecified
Hardware: PC Linux
: Low minor
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Lluis Sanchez
URL:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2012-03-29 21:07 UTC by Csaba Halász
Modified: 2012-04-24 12:14 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

Tags:
Is this bug a regression?: ---
Last known good build:

Notice (2018-05-24): bugzilla.xamarin.com is now in read-only mode.

Please join us on Visual Studio Developer Community and in the Xamarin and Mono organizations on GitHub to continue tracking issues. Bugzilla will remain available for reference in read-only mode. We will continue to work on open Bugzilla bugs, copy them to the new locations as needed for follow-up, and add the new items under Related Links.

Our sincere thanks to everyone who has contributed on this bug tracker over the years. Thanks also for your understanding as we make these adjustments and improvements for the future.


Please create a new report for Bug 4154 on Developer Community or GitHub if you have new information to add and do not yet see a matching new report.

If the latest results still closely match this report, you can use the original description:

  • Export the original title and description: Developer Community HTML or GitHub Markdown
  • Copy the title and description into the new report. Adjust them to be up-to-date if needed.
  • Add your new information.

In special cases on GitHub you might also want the comments: GitHub Markdown with public comments

Related Links:
Status:
NEW

Description Csaba Halász 2012-03-29 21:07:27 UTC
How to reproduce the issue:
1. create a new c# solution
2. go to edit->preferences->source code/code formatting/text file and change any setting. Monodevelop will show a warning message that the change only applies to new projects
3. go to project->solution options->source code/code formatting/text file and notice the changes made in the global preferences are visible

If you customize the solution options, it will get its own independent copy and global changes will no longer propagate.

I would argue that the behavior is acceptable, maybe even preferable. The only problem is the slightly misleading warning message.