Bug 2299 - When texteditor cannot save a document, it should do it visibly and obtrusively
Summary: When texteditor cannot save a document, it should do it visibly and obtrusively
Status: RESOLVED FIXED
Alias: None
Product: Xamarin Studio
Classification: Desktop
Component: Text Editor ()
Version: Trunk
Hardware: PC Mac OS
: Normal normal
Target Milestone: ---
Assignee: Mike Krüger
URL:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2011-12-01 14:32 UTC by Alan McGovern
Modified: 2012-03-30 02:11 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

Tags:
Is this bug a regression?: ---
Last known good build:

Notice (2018-05-24): bugzilla.xamarin.com is now in read-only mode.

Please join us on Visual Studio Developer Community and in the Xamarin and Mono organizations on GitHub to continue tracking issues. Bugzilla will remain available for reference in read-only mode. We will continue to work on open Bugzilla bugs, copy them to the new locations as needed for follow-up, and add the new items under Related Links.

Our sincere thanks to everyone who has contributed on this bug tracker over the years. Thanks also for your understanding as we make these adjustments and improvements for the future.


Please create a new report on Developer Community or GitHub with your current version information, steps to reproduce, and relevant error messages or log files if you are hitting an issue that looks similar to this resolved bug and you do not yet see a matching new report.

Related Links:
Status:
RESOLVED FIXED

Description Alan McGovern 2011-12-01 14:32:23 UTC
At the moment if a file needs line ending conversions, has been modified on disk or has an autosave that the user hasn't decided on opening, it will silently fail to save when you try to save it. A message bar will be instead be placed at the top of the document asking you what to do.

The problem with this is that if there are multiple files open and click 'save all', you may not even realise that some of your files have not saved. Bug #624 was a prime example of this. There could be other cases which are affected by this too.

Commit d1952b1299 and f11df756097 mitigate some of the problems associated with this, but we should do this in a better way.
Comment 1 Lluis Sanchez 2011-12-01 16:17:57 UTC
> The problem with this is that if there are multiple files open and click 'save
> all', you may not even realise that some of your files have not saved

In such case, MD should automatically switch to the document that was not saved and that is showing the warning.
Comment 2 Mike Krüger 2012-03-30 02:11:04 UTC
fixed.